Knowledgebase

Search:     Advanced search

Enabling Multiple Logins to Projects in TestTrack Pro 7.5 and Earlier

Article ID: 574  |  Last updated: 31 Dec, 2014

Depending on project option settings, floating license users can log in to a TestTrack Pro project multiple times simultaneously. TestTrack Pro uses a floating license each time a user logs in to a project. For example, if a user logs into a project three times simultaneously using TestTrack Pro Web, three floating licenses are used and unavailable to other users.

For example, some companies use this feature to let TestTrack Pro Web users open multiple list windows using different columns and filters in one project.

To enable multiple logins for a project:

  1. Choose Tools > Administration > Project Options.
  2. Select the General tab.
  3. Select Allow TestTrack Pro Client floating licenses users to log in multiple times to allow TestTrack Pro Client users to log in to the project multiple times simultaneously.
    Enter the number of Maximum logins.
    The default is 1, which restricts Client users from logging in multiple times.
  4. Select Allow TestTrack Pro Web users to log in multiple times to allow Web users to log in to the project multiple times simultaneously.
    Enter the number of Maximum logins.
    The default is 1, which restricts Web users from logging in multiple times.

Notes

Keep the following in mind:

  • The maximum login settings for the TestTrack Pro Client and TestTrack Pro Web are independent of each other. For example, the maximum logins for Web users is 1 and for Client users is 2. The user logs in to the TestTrack Pro Client  but cannot log in to TestTrack Pro Web because multiple logins are not allowed since the maximum login is 1.
  • If the maximum login for TestTrack Pro Client users is 1 and a user attempts to log in to the project a second time using the TestTrack Pro Client, the user cannot log in and a message displays indicating they are already logged in.
  • When multiple logins are enabled for TestTrack Pro Web, users must log out before closing the browser. If a user does not log out, the session remains active and floating licenses are not available to other users until the session times out or you manually log out the user. You can change the duration of the Web session timeout using the TestTrack Pro Server Admin Utility.
  • If the maximum logins for TestTrack Pro Web users is 1 and a user attempts to log into the project a second time, the TestTrack Pro Server automatically logs off the first web session and frees the floating license. If the user is editing a record and attempts to log in to the project a second time, they cannot log in and an error displays indicating the record is being edited in another client.
  • TestTrack Pro Client users who want to log in multiple times from a single computer must enable a local option to use multiple instances of TestTrack Pro. Choose Tools > Local Options. Select Allow multiple instances of this application and click OK.
Article ID: 574  |   Last updated: 31 Dec, 2014
Tags
license usage login

Prev   Next
TestTrack SMTP Send Mail Error #554     Starting the TestTrack Server on Mac OS X Returns a Socket...