TestTrack triggers can run either before or after records are saved in the project database. All trigger rules are evaluated by the TestTrack Server when a user clicks OK or Apply to save changes to a defect, requirement, requirement documents, test case, or test run. The actions in the trigger rule are performed based on when the trigger is configured to run.
- If the rule passes and the 'Before save' option is selected, the actions are performed then the record is saved in the project database. If the Prevent action is included in the rule, the record is not saved because the action stops users from saving records.
- If the rule passes and the 'After save' option is selected, the record is saved in the project database and then the action is performed.