Search:     Advanced search

Understanding TestTrack Database File Flushing

Article ID: 398  |  Last updated: 31 Dec, 2014

Note: This article only applies to TestTrack native projects.

By default, TestTrack flushes all database files after each database transaction. This operation is slower, but it is also safer because some operating systems and disk caching software do not write to disk automatically. Instead the buffer waits until it is convenient to write to disk. If the TestTrack Server computer is unexpectedly shut down changes may not be written to the database files resulting in database inconsistencies.

You can turn off this option if you are sure the TestTrack Server computer will not be shut down unexpectedly. For example, if the computer is hooked up to a UPS. When the option is turned off the operating system is responsible for flushing the files to the hard disk.

You can use the TestTrack Registry Utility to automatically change this option. Unix users can also manually modify the ttstudio.conf file. To turn off file flushing, add the following string value registry entry and set the value to '0':

\\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Seapine Software\TestTrack\TestTrack Server\FlushFilesAfterWrite>

Article ID: 398  |   Last updated: 31 Dec, 2014
database flush

Prev   Next
Removing index.html from the TestTrack Web URL     Problems Importing Email Attachments into TestTrack from Mac OS...