Knowledgebase

Search:     Advanced search

Upgrading Multiple 6.0 and Earlier Projects to TestTrack Pro 7.0 Fails

Article ID: 386  |  Last updated: 31 Dec, 2014

Problem

Upgrading multiple TestTrack Pro 6.0 and earlier projects fails when the Seapine License Server tries to save the users.

One of the following messages is logged in the license server log:

'An upgrade process failed when attempting to update a user with the username, [xxxx]. The License Server was unable to save the user record.'

'An upgrade process failed when attempting to add a new user with the same username, [xxxx], as an existing License Server user.'

The following two messages are logged in the TestTrack Pro Server log:

'LS(16) - An error occurred processing this action. An upgrade process failed when attempting to update a user with the username, [xxxx]. The License Server was unable to save the user record.'

'An error occurred when trying to save one or more users on the license server.'

Cause

The TestTrack Pro Server cannot resolve user conflicts between multiple projects. When multiple projects are upgraded together the users in each project are saved to the license server at the same time.

If a user only exists in a project, the user is added to the license server during the upgrade. The upgrade fails if the same user exists in multiple projects but has conflicting user information such as a different username.

The upgrade generally fails for one of the following reasons:

  1. A user with the same username and a different first and/or last name exists in multiple projects.
    However, if the last name is the same and either the first name or the email address is the same, the process will continue and log a warning message to the License Server log.
  2. A user with the same first and last name but with a different username exists in multiple projects.

Solution

Upgrade each project individually. When single projects are upgraded, the TestTrack Pro Server can easily identify and resolve user information conflicts.

If you do not want to upgrade each project individually, you must manually resolve all user conflicts between projects before upgrading.

Article ID: 386  |   Last updated: 31 Dec, 2014
Tags
upgrade project user record

Prev   Next
Server Applications Do Not Run After Upgrading to Windows Vista     Hiding TestTrack Fields